Nintendo on top?

Over the last few weeks I’ve seen numerous stories displaying how well Nintendo has been doing lately. I’ve seen an increase in the amount of talk about the WiiU and even more about Nintendo’s most recent money maker, the Amiibo figurines.

These things are selling, no doubt about it. And it appears that it isn’t even for the intended use in gaming, so what are people buying them for? Purely for collection, to sit on the shelf and look pretty. As we all know collectors will pay hefty prices to get that last figure for the collection. I guarantee that there wouldn’t be many who have a completed collection as the demand and the supplied amount for these figures is limited.
Is Nintendo creating the age old strategy of
“demand>supply”? Or is it just another instance of not expecting the figures to take off so well?

I’ve seen this again with the limited edition Majora’s Mask 3DS, everybody wanted one. Hell I wanted one and I’ve got a 3ds, 3ds XL, 2ds and a New 3DS. The appeal of owning Nintendo collectibles is just too strong and here’s why.

They will hold their value, purely for the nostalgic feeling. I’ve kept my NES and Nintendo 64 just because I spent so long playing them, my parents still have all my game boys and games in my old room. They take me back to childhood playing with my brothers and friends.
And this is the reason why Nintendo is loved, the characters are fun and impossible to forget. It helps also when your 1st party games are on top whenever their released, just look at the success of Majora’s Mask and Monster Hunter this week.

I really do hope sales like these continue because I’m not ready to see Nintendo go just yet.

Nintendo on top?

One thought on “Nintendo on top?

  1. Nintendo seems to be what gamers actually talk about while with XBone and PS4 the only thing people talk about is the war between them. I think that means Nintendo is winning. Amibos are making a killing without having to program an entire new game. Fans instantly buying them out for collector’s reasons only fuels Nintendo’s money.

    Like

Leave a Reply

