Sorry I’m what?

32 years of age is the average age for Gamers apparently.

I’m sorry but I can’t believe this statistic, purely because 26% of Gamers are over the age of 50. How many 50 year olds do you know playing round after round of Battlefield, headset on, yelling profanities about who slept with whose Mother. Where do they find these people? I’ve never come across them in all my years of gaming online or online forums, “so where are they?” I asked myself.

And then it hit me, mobile gaming.

Looking further into it various articles counted app games and the people who play them regularly as gamers. How do we decide whom to classify as a gamer? Is there a Government body who creates these parameters? What is classified as a game these days?

This is where the line is blurred. The guy who plays WoW for 16 hours a day is considered the same as a 42 year old woman who loads up Candy Crush once a day, or is it the bloke who works at McDonalds, loading up Clash of Clans when he’s on the toilet.

Is it the people on Facebook sending me continuous invitations to play the newest craze game, or the woman still farming on Farmville religiously after all these years?

It’s like calling a man who walks his dog once a day an athlete, it’s just not the same, and frankly it needs to stop.It appears that only the proper gamers (if I can say that, but who are the “proper”?) refer to themselves as the “Gamers” and I guess that’s as good as we’ll get for now.

Thanks for the read guys

Sorry I’m what?

Leave a Reply

